Distinguished Professor Award

The University of Virginia Alumni Association’s Distinguished Professor Award

This award was established to be conferred annually upon that member of the faculty who has, over a period of not fewer than ten years, excelled as a classroom teacher, shown unusual concern for students, and made significant contributions to the life of the University. Though national recognition, eminence in research, and quality of publications will not be overlooked, this award is primarily for the master teacher who has directed his or her efforts toward superior instruction and enrichment of life in the University. The award consists of a suitably inscribed and framed certificate, $10,000 cash, and Life Membership in the Alumni Association.

2018 Winner:  Lee Coppock II, Professor of Economics

2017 Winner:  Cassandra Fraser, Professor of Chemistry

2016 Winner:  Jay Hertel, Joe H. Gieck Professor of Sports Medicine.

2015 Winner:  Herbert Tico Braun, Associate Professor, Department of History

2014 Winner:  Edward M. Murphy, Associate Professor, Department of Astronomy

Award presented by Charles Tolbert, Professor Emeritus, Astronomy Department

2013 Winner:  William H. Guilford, Ph.D., Associate Professor, Department of Biochemical Engineering

Award presented by Frederick H. Epstein, Ph.D., Professor and Chair, Biomedical Engineering Department